Tags

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2005/05/29/nwrist29.xml&sSheet=/portal/2005/05/29/ixportal.html

Ethical wristbands made using ‘slave labour’

From the page: “Wristbands sold to raise money for a campaign against world poverty are made in Chinese sweatshops in “slave labour” conditions”

There is also a thriving ‘black market’ going on (where I live at least) with kids selling them on at higher prices to other kids who can’t be bothered to go and buy them themselves from charities. So these kids seem to be more interested in following the wristband craze than in supporting the causes they advertise.

I’m not a wristband wearer. If I want to give to charity/support a cause I’ll do it directly – I feel no need to have something tangible to display to others. Particularly so if they are manufactured in sweatshops.

EDIT 4/6/05:

More rants on wristbands: The Anchoress.

 

