http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,2087-2230764,00.html

Here’s a story in the news that I was tempted to thumb down because I so don’t like what the doctors are proposing… but I resisted because I feel that the story itself is worth reading (although full of holes!) and should spark debate.

“Doctors want to screen out embryos with autism”

“A team of doctors at one of Britain’s leading hospitals wants to create the country’s first “designer babies” free from autism.

They are preparing an application to the fertility watchdog that would allow them to screen out male embryos to reduce significantly the chance of a couple having an autistic child. As boys are four times more likely to be born with autism than girls, couples with a family history of the condition want to ensure they have only girls. Such sex selection is not at present permitted.”

I will comment later.

