http://www.telegraph.co.uk/arts/main.jhtml?xml=/arts/2006/12/23/smpolar23.xml

The polar bear diaries

A polar bear stalks his prey, as captured in the BBC series Planet Earth

    “‘Heads you win, tails you lose… Tails you lose.’ My husband Mark, a fellow wildlife filmmaker, lost the third toss of the coin, and that’s how I got the chance to produce the ‘Ice Worlds’ episode of Planet Earth.”

The latest series of the BBC’s ‘Planet Earth’ features extraordinary footage of polar bears struggling to survive in a habitat severely threatened by global warming. In this article the producer Vanessa Berlowitz describes the hazardous and heartrending experiences the filming involved.

I enjoyed reading this – makes a change from news about fog-bound passengers at Heathrow. It also gave me one of those ‘my job is rather mundane’ moments.

